McKee Library Faculty and Staff

Deyse Bravo-Rivera, M.L.S.

Library Director

dbravo@southern.edu

423.236.2789

Genevieve Cottrell, M.Inf., DLitt et Phil

Cataloger (part-time)

gcottrell@southern.edu

423.236.2795

Stanley Cottrell II, M.A., M.L.S.

Technical Services Librarian

scottrell@southern.edu

423.236.2798 

Sonja Fordham, M.A., Ph.D.

Writing Center Director

Learning Support Services Director

sfordham@southern.edu

423.236.2384 

Carol Harrison

Circulation Manager

charrison@southern.edu

423.236.2010

Pamela Jansen,J.D.

Evening Reference Librarian

Periodicals Librarian

pjansen@southern.edu

423.236.2393

Donald Martin, M.S.L.S.

Digital Resources Librarian

dvmartin@southern.edu

423.236.2013

Katie McGrath, M.Ed.

Associate Director

Public Services Librarian

kmcgrath@southern.edu

423.236.2791

Seth Shaffer, M.S.F.S

Library Office & Periodicals Manager

sshaffer@southern.edu

423.236.2792

Jessica Spears, M.Ed

Research Services Librarian

jspears@southern.edu

423.236.2009

Administration

The Administrative Department manages the operation of the library in planning, budgeting, human resources, and basic organization. In addition, administration contributes substantially to the library's acquisition of monographic titles and databases.

Circulation

The Circulation Department facilitates access to the book collection that supports the university's curriculum, research, and scholarship activities. It maintains accessibility to the collection by overseeing checkout, return, accurate shelving, and shelf reading. In addition, it provides assistance in online research techniques to students, faculty, and staff in their academic endeavors. The Circulation Department also processes both electronic and print reserve requests according to copyright law.

E-Resources

This department acquires and manages electronic resources and online databases.

Information Technology

This department installs, configures, and maintains library software, computers, and servers.

Interlibrary Loan

Southern students and employees may use this service to request items not owned by McKee Library.

Media

The Media Department is responsible for:

  • Purchasing all media materials (including cassettes, videos, CDs, laser discs, etc.)
  • Assisting in selecting and viewing videotapes
  • Maintaining video collection
  • Recording programs
  • Duplicating audio and videotapes
  • Video standards conversion
  • Classroom design/layout including selection of screens, projectors, audio/video equipment, lighting and Internet communication.

Periodicals

The Periodical Department houses more than 2,200 titles from all disciplines, of which more than 800 are current. There are more than 40,000 titles available electronically through the different databases, as well as books in microform. The department is located on the main floor of the library to the right of the entrance.

Reference

The Reference Department offers a variety of services to help individuals access information effectively. The Reference Librarians are available to answer questions, to guide with specific research, to instruct on database searching, and to find materials.

Technical Services (Acquisitions & Cataloging)

The Technical Services Department is responsible for collection development and maintenance. The department purchases all books for the library (in both print and electronic formats), processes and catalogs items, and maintains the library's online catalog.