Upcoming and Current Happenings

 Art in the Library

School of Visual Art and Design Printmaking Exhibit | January through March 1, 2017

The School of Visual Art & Design Printmaking class, taught by Marc Boyson, had the opportunity to be a part of a book arts workshop with The Open Press in downtown Chattanooga. The workshop was facilitated by Juanita Tumelaire, Ellen Simak, and Adam Hickman Ewing. The students in the course created a book that is a reflection of a student’s creative thought and humor manifested through the Book Arts. The collection will be on display on the library's main floor through March 1, 2017.

Carol Thomas Art Exhibit | January through March, 29, 2017

A collection of paintings created by Carol Thomas will be on display on the library's second floor until March 29, 2017.

Technology and Power Board Game | January through April 28, 2017

Technology and Power, a history course in the Southern Scholars curriculum, studies the relationship between technological development and European expansion into global dominance between 1500 and 1950.  For the final exam students are divided into teams and each team creatively develops a board game that illustrates the relationship between technical innovation and political and economic hegemony.  A display of one of these games is on exhibit through April 28, 2017 on the library's main floor, near periodicals.

WWI Posters | January through April 2017

The United States entered World War I in 1917. To encourage our citizens in their war efforts, as well as to inform them about what was happening, the US government produced massive amounts of posters to be distributed around the country. These posters were considered one of the main means of communication during this time. A collection of these posters is on display through April 2017 on the library's main floor. 

 
 

 Therapy Dog Visits for Winter 2017

  • Thursday, February 2 from 3 to 4 pm
  • Wednesday, February 8 from 5 to 6 pm
  • Sunday, February 12 from 6 to 7 pm
  • Sunday, February 19 from 6 to 7 pm
  • Wednesday, February 22 from 5 to 6 pm
  • Sunday, February 26 from 6 to 7 pm
  • Thursday, March 2 from 3 to 4 pm
  • Wednesday, March 15 from 5 to 6 pm
  • Wednesday, March 29 from 5 to 6 pm
  • Thursday, April 6 from 3 to 4 pm
  • Wednesday, April 10 from 5 to 6 pm
  • Wednesday, April 26 from 5 to 6 pm
  • Thursday, May 4 from 3 to 4 pm