Nursing Club

The School of Nursing (SON) encourages and supports a formal student organization. The School of Nursing Club sponsors activities of both a spiritual and social nature to enrich the lives of busy nursing students.

2018-19 Nursing Club Officers:

President—DJ Sommerville; Vice President—Mia Spicer; Co-Social Vice Presidents—Miranda Watung and Raina Simon; Treasurer—Bailey Park; Outreach Coordinator/Pastor—Samantha Yoon; Co-Secretaries—Savannah Elliott and Jesmalis Rosales; Public Relations—Allison Lowery

Faculty Sponsor—Christina Shrode

Honor Society

Sigma Theta Tau International Nursing Honor Society seeks to foster excellence, scholarship, and leadership in nursing with the purpose of improving health care worldwide. The society promotes the use of nursing research in health care delivery and makes its resources available to all people and institutions interested in the latest knowledge in nursing care.

The Rho Iota chapter exists to promote these same initiatives for and through its members' endeavors in research and education. Through an annual Research Day, educational workshops, research grants, and achievement awards, members have an opportunity to develop leadership and be recognized as nurse professionals.

Eligibility criteria require achievement in nursing. Students in baccalaureate programs are eligible if one-half the curriculum is completed and their GPA is in the upper 35 percent of the class (minimum of 3.0). Graduate students must have a 3.50 GPA and have completed one-fourth of the curriculum.

Dues are $90 annually. Dues include subscriptions to the Journal of Nursing Scholarship and Reflections. For further information, please visit the Sigma Theta Tau International website at

For questions regarding the Rho Iota chapter and/or application requests, please call either 423.236.2940 or 1.800.SOUTHERN (ask for the School of Nursing). You can also email us at

Our mailing address is:

Southern Adventist University
School of Nursing
P.O. Box 370
Collegedale, TN 37315

Honor Society Officers & Counselors

President: Catherine Marcum*  
Vice President: Ronda Christman*  423.236.2153
Treasurer: Jeremy Smith  
Secretary: Beth Scott 423.236.2948
Counselor: Sonia Wrate 423.236.2943
Governance Chair Lilly Tryon 423.236.2154
Leadership Chair Jill Buchholz* 423.236.2343

*January 2019: President, Ronda Christman; VP, Jill Buchholz; Leadership Chair, Catherine Marcum