Faculty and Staff

Faculty and staff in the School of Physical Education, Health and Wellness are dedicated to helping you succeed in your chosen field. With years of experience, they possess the knowledge and skills necessary to help you meet your physical, spiritual, and academic goals.

PROFESSORS AND STAFF
EMAIL
OFFICE
PHONE NUMBER
rcbenge@southern.edu
HWC 3121
423.236.2855
Darin Bissell
Office Manager
dbissell@southern.edu
HWC 3139
423.236.2593
Mike Boyd
Associate Professor
mboyd@southern.edu
HWC 3107
423.236.2854
Doug Brown
Associate Professor
dougb@southern.edu
HWC 3105
423.236.2857
Rod Bussey
Professor
rbussey@southern.edu
HWC 3123
423.236.2457
Leslie Evenson
Wellness Institute Director/QEP
levenson@southern.edu
HWC 3115
423.236.2594
Mike Harris

Adventure Programming Director
mharris@southern.edu
Iles 2409
423.236.2459
Don Mathis

Facilities Manager
dmathis@southern.edu
HWC 1106A
423.236.2595
Harold Mayer

Professor
hmayer@southern.edu
HWC 3109
423.236.2851
Bonny Musgrave
Assistant Professor/Vegetarian Culinary Arts
bonnymusgrave@southern.edu
HWC 3111
Office: 423.236.2456
Culinary: 423.236.2550
Richard Schwarz

Associate Professor
rschwarz@southern.edu
HWC 1311
423.236.2673
Judy Sloan

Professor
jsloan@southern.edu
HWC 3125
423.236.2595
Troy Walker
Assistant Professor/Intramural Director
twalker@southern.edu
Iles 2436
423.236.2458
ADJUNCTS/PART TIME 
EMAIL
OFFICE
PHONE NUMBER
Darren Boyd
Gym Kids Assistant Director
darrenb@southern.edu
HWC 1311
423.236.2543
Monica Coulter
Adjunct Pilates Professor
mcoulter@southern.edu
 
423.236.2593 Office Manager
Debb Fager
Adjunct Culinary Professor
dfager@southern.edu
 
423.432.8373 Cell
Jim Quick 
Scuba Instructor
jquick@southern.edu
 
423.236.2593 Office Manager
Dwight Magers 
Adjunct Racquetball Professor
magers@southern.edu
Talge Hall
423.236.2452 Office
Mary Anne Poulson 
Adjunct Culinary Professor
mpoulson@southern.edu
Hackman Hall 211
423.236.2976 Office
Josh Rhodes 
Adjunct Culinary Professor
jrhodes@southern.edu
Wright Hall
423.236.2644 Office
Dorothea Sarli 
Adjunct Nutrition & Walking/Jogging Professor
dsarli@southern.edu
 
423.902.3008 Cell
Tara HillsAdjunct Horsemanship Professor
thills@southern.edu or tara@hiddenhillsfarm.com
Hidden Hills Farm
423.236.2593 Office Manager