"It started with just grading papers, but it quickly grew into one-on-one help with students and teaching a few lessons."

2014 Barbara Lotze Scholarship Recipient

LeahDeWeezOn February 23, 2015, the American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT) announced that Leah DeWeez, sophomore physics major with teacher certification, was one of only four recipients across the nation to be awarded the 2014 Barbara Lotze Scholarship for Future Teachers. This scholarship provides a $2,000 stipend to outstanding future high school physics teachers. 

Leah has volunteered at her old school during summer vacations and has acquired many teaching skills as a result. She states that she once had the opportunity to be a substitute teacher, which further proves her competence in the classroom.

Congratulations, Leah! 

Read the full story at the AAPT website:  2014 Barbara Lotze Scholarship Winners Named

Story by: Tamie Suzuki

Last Updated: March 31, 2015