Skip to main content
decorative
decorative
MSW_Master of Social Work header-icon

 

Master of Social Work

Master of Social Work

The specializations are:

  • Child and Family Advocacy and Treatment
  • International Social Work
  • Marital Therapy and Stability
  • Older Adult Enrichment
  • Trauma and Emergency Management

 

 

Social Work program celebrates early accreditation »

 

Learn advanced social work skills. Lead with innovation and compassion. Offer a sense of belonging and stability to people who are hurting. 

Be a Change Agent

The School of Social Work offers inclusive and innovative education that impacts our world today and for eternity. The MSW program prepares practitioners in a Christian learning environment for excellence and leadership across systems, and in advanced autonomous social work practice.

Online Classes

For information about taking classes online and a list of available courses, visit Southern Online or call 423.236.2087.

MSW degree student with books 

Master's in Social Work students studying    
MSW_master of social work contact tricia foster

Questions?

Email or call for information about everything from admission to graduation. 

Tricia Foster
Graduate Enrollment Counselor

tfoster@southern.edu
423.236.2629


Graduate Faculty

MSW_master of social work faculty evie baker

Evie Nogales Baker—M.S.W. (2005)
Assistant Professor of Social Work
Generalist Field Director

M.S.W., University of Tennessee, Knoxville
B.A., B.S.W., Southern Adventist University

evien@southern.edu
423.236.2640

Mioara Diaconu—Ph.D. (2012)
Associate Professor of Social Work
MSW Program Director

Ph.D., University of Texas at Arlington
M.S.W. and M.S.A., Andrews University

mioarad@southern.edu
423.236.2637

MSW_master of social work faculty Renee Drumm

René Drumm—Ph.D. (2003)
Professor of Social Work

Ph.D., Texas Woman's University
M.S.W., Michigan State University
B.S., Andrews University

rdrumm@southern.edu
423.236.2766

MSW_master of social work faculty Annette Heck

Annette Heck, L.C.S.W., M.S.W. (2010)
Assistant Professor of Social Work
B.S.W. Program Director

M.S.W., Andrews University
B.S.W., Southern Adventist University

aheck@southern.edu
423.236.2630

 

Ed Lamb, M.S.S.W. (2013)
Interim Dean of Social Work

M.S.W., University of Tennessee, Knoxville
B.S., Union College

elamb@southern.edu
423.236.2780

 

 

Lorri Merchant, M.S.W. (2012)
Associate Professor of Social Work

M.S.W., University of Kansas
B.S.W., Southern Adventist University

lmerchant@southern.edu
423.236.2641

 

 

Laura Racovita-Szilagi, M.S.W. (2013)
Assistant Professor of Social Work

B.A., B.S.W., M.S.W., Andrews University

racovita@southern.edu
423.236.2635

 

MSW_master of social work faculty Cornel Rusu

Cornel Rusu—M.S.W. (2009)
Assistant Professor of Social Work

M.S.W., Andrews University
M.A., Newbold College
B.A., BabeĊŸ-Bolyai University, Romania

crusu@southern.edu
423.236.2628

MSW_master of social work faculty Stanley Stevenson

Stanley Stevenson—M.S.W. (2003)
Associate Professor of Social Work
MSW Advanced Field Director

M.S.W., Andrews University
M.A., B.A., Andrews University

sstevenson@southern.edu
423.236.2666

MSW_master of social work faculty Kristie Wilder

Kristie Wilder—J.D. (2011)
Associate Professor of Social Work

J.D., Nashville School of Law
M.S.W., University of Tennessee, Knoxville
B.S.W., Southern Adventist University

kwilder@southern.edu
423.236.2206


 

 

 

decorative
decorative