Skip to main content
decorative
decorative

McKee Library

 

Today at the Library

Hours

Regular hours
Sun   Noon – 11p
Mon – Thu   7:45a – 11p
Fri   7:45a – 2p 
Sat   Closed

Writing Center
Sun – Thu   1pm – 9pm

 

Ask Us Ask Now»
Phone 423.236.2788

Follow Us 

McKee Library Employees

Deyse Bravo Rivera, B.A., M.L.S.

Electronic and Continuing Resources Librarian

dbravo@southern.edu

423.236.2789

Genevieve Cottrell, M.Inf., DLitt et Phil

Cataloger (part-time)

gcottrell@southern.edu

423.236.2795

Stanley Cottrell II, M.A., M.L.S.

Media Librarian / Technical Services Librarian

scottrell@southern.edu

423.236.2798 

Carol Harrison

Circulation and Reserves Manager

charrison@southern.edu

423.236.2010

Jennifer Huck

Technical Services Manager

jlhuck@southern.edu

423.236.2790

Daniel Maxwell, M.L.S., Ph.D.

Library Director

dmaxwell@southern.edu

423.236.2008

Katie McGrath, M.Ed.

Reference and Instruction Librarian

kmcgrath@southern.edu

423.236.2791

Ron Miller, B.S.

Library Systems Administrator

rsmiller@southern.edu

423.236.2796

Luis Rodas

Assistant Circulation Manager (part-time)

lrodas@southern.edu

423.236.2010

Marge Seifert, M.S.L.S., M.A.T.

Public Services Librarian

meseifrt@southern.edu

423.236.2794

Seth Shaffer, B.A.

Library Office & Periodicals Manager

sshaffer@southern.edu

423.236.2792

Jessica Spears, B.S.Ed, M.Ed.

Embedded Knowledge Specialist

Electronic Resources Librarian

jspears@southern.edu

423.236.2009

Becky Whetmore, B.A.

Writing Center Office Assistant

bwhetmore@southern.edu

423.236.2384

   

 

Departments

Administration

The Administrative Department manages the operation of the library in planning, budgeting, human resources, and basic organization. In addition, administration contributes substantially to the library's acquisition of monographic titles and databases.

Circulation

The Circulation Department facilitates access to the book collection that supports the university's curriculum, research, and scholarship activities. It maintains accessibility to the collection by overseeing checkout, return, accurate shelving, and shelf reading. In addition, it provides assistance in online research techniques to students, faculty, and staff in their academic endeavors. The Circulation Department also processes both electronic and print reserve requests according to copyright law.

E-Resources

This department acquires and manages electronic resources and online databases.

Information Systems

This department installs, configures, and maintains library software, computers, and servers.

Interlibrary Loan

Southern students and employees may use this service to request items not owned by McKee Library.

Media

The Media Department is responsible for:

  • Purchasing all media materials (including cassettes, videos, CDs, laser discs, etc.)
  • Assisting in selecting and viewing videotapes
  • Maintaining video collection
  • Recording programs
  • Duplicating audio and videotapes
  • Video standards conversion
  • Classroom design/layout including selection of screens, projectors, audio/video equipment, lighting and Internet communication.

Periodicals

The Periodical Department houses more than 2,200 titles from all disciplines, of which more than 800 are current. There are more than 40,000 titles available electronically through the different databases, as well as books in microform. The department is located on the main floor of the library to the right of the entrance.

Reference

The Reference Department offers a variety of services to help individuals access information effectively. The Reference Librarians are available to answer questions, to guide with specific research, to instruct on database searching, and to find materials.

Technical Services (Acquisitions & Cataloging)

The Technical Services Department is responsible for collection development and maintenance. The department purchases all books for the library (in both print and electronic formats), processes and catalogs items, and maintains the library's online catalog.

 

decorative
decorative