Skip to main content
decorative
decorative

Faculty and staff in the School of Physical Education, Health and Wellness are dedicated to helping you succeed in your chosen field. With years of experience, they possess the knowledge and skills necessary to help you meet your physical, spiritual, and academic goals.

Full-Time
Faculty/Staff
Function Email Office Office number
Robert Benge Dean rcbenge@southern.edu HWC 3121 423.236.2855
Darin Bissell Office Manager dbissell@southern.edu HWC 3139 423.236.2593
Mike Boyd Associate Professor mboyd@southern.edu HWC 3107 423.236.2854
Doug Brown Associate Professor dougb@southern.edu HWC 3105 423.236.2857
Rod Bussey Associate Professor rbussey@southern.edu HWC 3123 423.236.2457
Leslie Evenson Wellness Institute Director/QEP levenson@southern.edu HWC 3115 423.236.2594
Mike Harris Adventure Programming Director mharris@southern.edu Iles 2409 423.236.2459
Don Mathis Facilities Manager dmathis@southern.edu HWC 1106A 423.236.2595
Harold Mayer Professor hmayer@southern.edu HWC 3109 423.236.2851
Richard Schwarz Associate Professor rschwarz@southern.edu HWC 1311 423.236.2673
Judy Sloan Professor jsloan@southern.edu HWC 3125 423.236.2595
Doug Tilstra Professor
75% School of Education & Psychology
25% School of Physical Education
tilstra@southern.edu Summerour 1100D
& HWC 3141
423.236.2984
Troy Walker Assistant Professor/Intramural Director twalker@southern.edu Iles 2436 423.236.2458
Crystal Whitten Associate Professor/Culinary Arts Director crystalwhitten@southern.edu HWC 3111 423.236.2456
         
Adjunct Faculty Email Office Office Phone Number
Jan Cochrane jecochrane@southern.edu Adjunct 423.236.2593
Nora McCarthy nmccarthy@southern.edu Adjunct 423.236.2593 
Dwight Magers magers@southern.edu Talge 423.236.2452
Sally Randall weekss@southern.edu Adjunct 423.280.8571
Dorothea Sarli dsarli@southern.edu Adjunct 423.902.3008
Brian Wilson bdwilson@southern.edu Village Market 423.236.2300

decorative
decorative